English CS2D in 3D

101 replies
Goto Page
To the start Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next To the start
13.03.17 06:02:04 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
I might implement optional non-tile FOW:)
Lighting engine is already implemented, I might just copy some rendering stuff from there to render FOW, instead light. That method won't even require FBO that would eat performance as lighting engine do.
13.03.17 08:24:00 pm
Up
Andrez
User
Offline Off
user SQ has written:
@user Andrez: That is ridiculous. 3D render does not affect FOW at all. It does not effect any code related to the gameplay... And this is going to be server-sided option, or map option in the end. So both players will see the same mode. Also it looks like you don't really know how FOW works. The situation you have shown is usual to happen with current FOW system.
And that's the point of 3D walls - is that you can hide behind them. It's not a bug, it's a feature.


Im just saying its more difficult to find players, and my whole point was to make it server sided so yea it's not so ridiculous.
Still, you gotta check that thing about shooting, it was like 50% (or even more)harder to see the bullets spray compared to the bullets with non 3drender
∗ PCS ADMIN CS2D.NET - Clan: Storm . Cs2d competitive videos:Andréz
15.03.17 02:00:29 am
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
Buildings in 3D!

IMG:https://s7.postimg.org/j3d4zoyiz/qwetd.png
15.03.17 03:35:01 am
Up
since walls may be different height and obstacles too, would it not be confusing? for example wall 3 and obstacle tile have identical height, but wall is wall.. and looks like obstacle. For sure if you make walls drop shadows at obstacles it would looks better, but if we may change height in future, obstacles may have higher height than walls(1,2,3,disp,turret etc), whose height is static and unchangeable.
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - The Lost Land dev. https://discord.gg/aABCkHQ
15.03.17 03:46:42 am
Up
StirlizZ-Fapicon
Super User
Offline Off
@user SQ: nice job you did to building, I like it. Don`t you think obstacles should be "fixed" somehow except for drawing them under player`s guns to show they`re obstacles. not walls? May be add some height to player sprites?
CS2d for ANDROID Discord server is here: https://discord.gg/ww59nvf
15.03.17 12:03:24 pm
Up
Goo
User
Offline Off
The turret looks wrong...
15.03.17 12:31:09 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
user StirlizZ-Fapicon has written:
@user SQ: nice job you did to building, I like it. Don`t you think obstacles should be "fixed" somehow except for drawing them under player`s guns to show they`re obstacles. not walls? May be add some height to player sprites?

We are going to add height to the sprites. It's in the progress.

@user Goo: Draw turret how it should look like then!
15.03.17 12:37:02 pm
Up
BCG2000
User
Offline Off
Obstacles should be half the height they are right now. It seems like their height is "32" (so they look like boxes because the tiles are 32x32 pixels), they will look better if their height gets changed to "16".
15.03.17 12:41:25 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
@user BCG2000: Done that already in current version I'm working with. Last screenshot.
edited 1×, last 15.03.17 12:41:47 pm
15.03.17 12:41:31 pm
Up
Hador
User
Offline Off
This looks great - but do players still look over obstacles? It could look strange is they vanish behind obstacles, but you can still shoot them
15.03.17 01:19:32 pm
Up
Since obstacle' height may be more than wall' and you still be able to shoot through them, even if their height would be 2301230123. etc. it would looks weird.
Maybe add a special maximum minimal value to them? like a:
All obstacles may be from 4 up to 16.
And walls from 32 to w/e value you want.
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - The Lost Land dev. https://discord.gg/aABCkHQ
15.03.17 01:37:20 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
Why not leaving freedom of choice for the map maker?
15.03.17 01:39:21 pm
Up
Yates
Reviewer
Offline Off
user SQ has written:
Why not leaving freedom of choice for the map maker?
15.03.17 02:20:40 pm
Up
user SQ, but.. if you make obstacles looks like 12313pixels height and place buildings it would look weird.. i doubt that it won't make confusing.
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - The Lost Land dev. https://discord.gg/aABCkHQ
15.03.17 05:00:15 pm
Up
SQ
Moderator
Offline Off
It's up to the map creator. We should support all the nonsense they can come up with... There will be limits for the wall sizes of course.
15.03.17 05:23:47 pm
Up
Masea
Super User
Offline Off
user SQ has written:
It's up to the map creator. We should support all the nonsense they can come up with...
That's nice.
user SQ has written:
There will be limits for the wall sizes of course.
What just happened the first two sentences you wrote? Or are you talking about to stop people who are going to make the biggest walls which will cover all over the map in the future? Nonsenses are nonsense, so... I agree with user Mora_rus
Create your UI easy and fast: UI Framework | Go deeper into the darkness and test your bravery: file cs2d Outlast 2 Modification (27)
15.03.17 05:27:00 pm
Up
Yates
Reviewer
Offline Off
@user Masea: He's taking about people making them so high it would be considered intentionally trying to fuck with things. He's not contradicting himself whatsoever.
15.03.17 05:28:24 pm
Up
Yes, but what do you think about their looks? I will repeat:
If i use for example wall texture with bricks.. would it scale it so much? Or you will add something that would make them looks else?
Also:
Is there height value for dyn_walls? if i use two different tile-walls on one tile:
tileframe is 20(wall) for exmaple, and it's height is 64.
And entity on it with frame 30(propertie-wall), and it's height is also 64 or anything else.
What would it looks like?
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - The Lost Land dev. https://discord.gg/aABCkHQ
15.03.17 05:33:39 pm
Up
Yates
Reviewer
Offline Off
user Mora_rus has written:
Yes, but what do you think about their looks? I will repeat:

You're not repeating anything, you're just clarifying your very vague post which can be misunderstood 50 trillion ways. Be clear, assertive and provide as much information as possible.

Anyway, no idea. What do you suggest? Do you have a solution to this problem?
15.03.17 05:40:12 pm
Up
Masea
Super User
Offline Off
@user Yates: I can't say much about his last post but if we consider what he tried to say in his first post(which is about height one), he wants an established limit to obstacles just because if we make their height more than 64, they will not look like an obstacle but they will keep their job do(we can shoot, we can see enemies through them, etc.). Which means it is unrealistic and has bad looking to eyes. So does he have a solution? Yeah, as he said, obstacles need a limit while we're setting their heights.
edited 2×, last 15.03.17 05:42:07 pm
Create your UI easy and fast: UI Framework | Go deeper into the darkness and test your bravery: file cs2d Outlast 2 Modification (27)
To the start Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next To the start